City Clerk's Office
The City Clerk's Office handles public records requests, requests for qualifications/bids, assists with voter registration, and licenses and permits for non-construction related items.
Licenses & Permits
- Cereal Malt Beverage and Liquor License
- Vendor Stand and Door to Door Peddler Permit
- Vehicle for Hire Permit
- Fireworks Stand Permit
It is unlawful for any person or business to sell any cereal malt beverage (CMB) or alcoholic liquor at retail, for consumption either on or off premise, without a license for each place of business. All applications for new and renewed licenses are directed to the city clerk (CMB licenses are subject to approval by the governing body) and liquor licenses require proof of appropriate Kansas state licensing. All licenses are good for a 1-year period, except temporary CMB and Liquor licenses, which are valid for the period stated on the permit. License fees are as follows:
All salespersons wishing to sell products either door-to-door or at a temporary stand are required to complete an application to obtain a permit and pay a fee. A Kansas Sales Tax number is required for all peddler permits and a background check will be run on all vendors.
As a new or renewal applicant, you are required to complete the application and submit the correct fee. Each question and blank on the application must be filled out completely to ensure quick and timely processing. If any question or blank is not answered or filled, the application will be denied. The City will NOT accept incomplete applications.
The following items must be turned into the City before an application will be reviewed:
- Completed “Door to Door Permit Application” or "Vendor Stand Permit Application"
- An ENLARGED/Current/Valid ID for all people that will have contact with the City of El Dorado residents.
(The review process can take up to 72 hours)
Once the application is reviewed and (if) approved the applicant then pays the City for all licensing fees. The fees are $50/day or $500/approved year period. If payment is made for a daily license after ten (10) days the rate will then roll into the approved year rate and will need to be paid at that time. The applicant is responsible for providing all receipts and paperwork showing they have paid for the ten (10) days and receiving their approved year period license. Any approved year license begins on the date of purchase and ends 364 days later.
All business associates who will have contact with City of El Dorado residents must carry with them at all times a copy of the Door to Door or Vendor Stand Certificate for the days that are approved.
An insurance policy for each vehicle must accompany this application, providing proof of insurance coverage for bodily injury and property damage in an amount not less than required under the Kansas financial responsibility laws. Along with a copy of the applicant’s driver's license.
Please read and complete the entire application before a permit will be issued. This application must contain the names, addresses and telephone numbers of at least two individuals who will be responsible for the fireworks stand.
If filling out this form online, please submit mail your payment to: City of El Dorado, 220 E. First Ave, El Dorado, KS 67042.