Planning Commission


  • 4th Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m.
  • City Hall
    220 E. 1st St.
    Commission Room
    El Dorado, KS 67042


Members are appointed for a period of 3 years and can serve 2 consecutive terms.

Board Members:

Donald Nichols
Scott Leason
Gerald Watson
Brad Long
Scott Hackler
Lawrence Fischetti
Frank Hughes
Steve Fellers
David Stewart
Staff: Jay Shivers, Planning and Zoning Coordinator

About the Commission

By Kansas statutes, in order to implement land use regulations, the Planning Commission must adopt a city plan for the physical development of the municipality. Before adopting or amending the plan, the Planning Commission must hold a public hearing. After adoption, a copy is certified to the City Commission, and city clerk, and a copy recorded in the office of the county register of deeds. The City Commission must approve the plan.

The Planning Commission is primarily an advisory body. Under the zoning regulations, a primary duty of the El Dorado Planning Commission is to hold a public hearing where public opinion can be expressed regarding the proposed rezoning. In this sense, the Planning Commission is a sounding board for community attitudes toward development. It is important for the Planning Commission to establish the facts surrounding each development issue as clearly as possible so that decisions are not based on misinformation or conjecture. The Planning Commission is required to adopt a recommendation to the governing body regarding rezoning of land, special use permits, and changes to the zoning and subdivision regulations.

Under the subdivision regulations, the Planning Commission has responsibility for approving or disapproving both preliminary and final plats. Guidelines to carry out this responsibility are provided by the design standards set out in the regulations.

To view past meetings, go to our YouTube Channel.